Aura Photography: Here’s what you need to know about it

A headshot of a person surrounded by dreamy colors emanating from their head and shoulders is becoming increasingly popular on Instagram. Hashtagged #auraphotography, these posts are not photoshopped, but an actual image of a person’s aura or their energy.

This practice is said to be a visual representation of how a person feels on an energy level. Although Aura photography has been around since the 1970s, it became a sensation a few years ago and has remained popular ever since.

How does it work?

Aura photographers use an AuraCam camera. The device looks like a box, with two smaller boxes made of metal and laced with silver.

The subject is made to place their hands in the small boxes that allow a biometric feedback system to create colors. Handplates in the boxes sense the vibrational frequency coming from the meridian point in their hands. Once the information is received, an algorithm inside the camera matches the frequency with a corresponding color. Then, just like a Polaroid, it prints out a photo.

The result is a double-exposed photo, which has an image of you overlapped with the aura image. The photographer will tell you what your energy is saying by analyzing the photo.

What do all those colors mean?

There are many things an aura image can tell about you and your energy based on the colors and their location. The colors in the aura photographs come from the chakra systems. There are seven main colors, which are the rainbow hues. However, these seven colors can blend to create new hues, as well.

What you should keep in mind is that there are no such things as “bad” colors. Like one’s mood or personality, there are just positive and negative colors.

Here’s a breakdown of the main seven colors:

Red (Root Chakra): Signifies fearlessness, courage, anger, passion, materialism, frustration, or exhaustion.

Orange (Sacral Chakra): Signifies friendliness, relationships, joy, teamwork, or action.

Yellow (Solar Plexus Chakra): Signifies leadership, intelligence, confidence, happiness, self-esteem, motivation, inspiration, or generosity.

Green (Heart Chakra): Signifies peace, personal growth, healing, focus, balance, responsibility, jealousy, or envy.

Blue (Throat Chakra): Signifies intuition, sensitivity, nurturing, protection, positivity, or peace.

Indigo (Third Eye): Signifies spirituality, empathy, intuition, inspiration, premonition, curiosity, or self-doubt.

Violet (Crown Chakra): Signifies wisdom, empathy, charisma, vision, innovation, leadership, spirituality, or philanthropy.

Where can I get one?

You can easily find a specialist or a metaphysical shop offering Aura photography across the country by performing a simple online search.

All third-party names (including company and service names), graphics and logos used here are trademarks or registered trademarks of such third parties. Use of them here does not imply any affiliation with or endorsement by such third-parties